All 27 Moons of Uranus are Named After Shakespeare & Alexander Pope Characters


Uranus has 27 known moons. The names for these moons were all chosen from characters from the works of Shakespeare and Alexander Pope. The five main satellites are Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania and Oberon. The full list of moons are:


  • Alexander Pope
    • The Rape of the Lock: Ariel, Umbriel, Belinda
  •  William Shakespeare:
    • A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Titania, Oberon, Puck
    • The Tempest: (Ariel), Miranda, Caliban, Sycorax, Prospero, Setebos, Stephano, Trinculo, Francisco, Ferdinand
    • King Lear: Cordelia
    • Hamlet: Ophelia
    • The Taming of the Shrew: Bianca
    • Troilus and Cressida: Cressida
    • Othello: Desdemona
    • Romeo and Juliet: Juliet, Mab
    • The Merchant of Venice: Portia
    • As You Like It: Rosalind
    • Much Ado About Nothing: Margaret
    • The Winter’s Tale: Perdita
    • Timon of Athens: Cupid